diving in: its kind of cold outside

so, compared to much of the rest of the county, no, its not that cold here in San Diego. However, two days ago i took this picture which is a bit unusual… in my short history here at least.

if you look carefully, you can just make out the snow covered mountains to the east of San Diego

It is a nice site to see snow but living in a house without heat (while we do have a shitty heater, we leave it off by choice) we were pretty damn cold for a few days there. During those few days, I went to Fallbrook and bought a huge fiberglass diving board, as you may remember. Yesterday, I finally came to a conclusion on how to build this piece and today, I started buying hardware for it because… I have decided to jump in waaay over my head and make s kinetic sculpture. All this time spent around Matt and Jon has apparently finally taken its toll.
here’s the rough sketch of the original idea, with none of the motors and cams included.


The poles are going to be the same size now but similarly get denser and denser towards the end. Each of them will go through the diving board where they will sit on top of a network of spinning cams that will raise and lower them in their rows forming a sort of wave pattern. The intensity of the motion will taper off as it gets to the end where it will be pretty minimal. I think I can do this… well I know I can but iv’e created quite a task for myself before my thesis. this is fun. All this techy thinking however, is hurting my head. ordering belts and motors and such feels really unsatisfying. I think this piece will be really nice once it comes together though… I hope.

4 Comments

Filed under documenting, studio, thesis and shows, whats new/whats happening

4 responses to “diving in: its kind of cold outside

  1. I am so glad that you and Amertah are turning into bona fide weather wimps! Congratulations!

  2. Heather McCalla

    How exciting Adam!!! Can’t wait to see it in action!

Leave a Reply

