Talking “Helter Shelter”

So last night we had a grad critique on the theme of shelter that most everyone (Although I’ve worked a lot within this theme, I’m kind of doing my own thing at this point) has been working on for the past five weeks or so. It was a good crit and I took pictures of it for your viewing enjoyment.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve played a lot in my own work with the idea, or at least the imagery, of shelter and really liked this assignment. I think people took it some pretty cool places. Justin’s hung plaster filled balloons reminded me of this installation at the Armory by Ernesto Neto.

here is a great slide-show of the installation and process behind Neto’s installation. its spicy… Neto is clearly playing with shelter as well, only on a totally different scale. great stuff.

Leave a comment

Filed under art/artists, studio, whats new/whats happening

Leave a Reply

