something new, something blue, something Flu

is this back-alley church or a dry cleaner?

so I’m starting to go crazy in my house and, just in time, I think I may be recovering from this evil Flu.
On a note unrelated to school or my impending thesis or our seminar class, I want everyone to get as excited as I am about the forthcoming new Panda Bear album “Tomboy”. Here is a link to a sweet cut from it called “Last Night at the Jetty” over at Pitchfork.

I hope you enjoy that as much as I do. The last album “Person Pitch”, as many of you know, changed my whole perspective on shit and this should prove to do that yet again.

While we wait for that though, I have been mildly obsessed with these new demo releases from Atlas sound. He released four full albums of home recorded demos for free on his blog and as a whole they are amazing. what Bradford does messing around in his spare time is mind blowing. he released this not that long after putting out Deerhunter’s “Halcyon Digest” which I consider the best album of 2010. maniac…
here’s the link if you are interested in hours of magical listening…

you can download all four albums there. just scroll down.

In art related news, My good friend Rebecca Goodman is having a fundraiser to …er…. raise funds… for a big project that she has envisioned. Its some reeeeeeeaaaal Hippy-Dippy stuff and there’s none better for the job than her. She’s looking for any help she can get to get this sculpture realized for a big event. So, if you are in a giving mood, help her out. any little bit helps and it seems like its not that far off. here is a link to the facebook event for the fundraising thing.

Rebecca is a pretty awesome girl and deserves any help that can be given. She kind of seems to be blowing up all over San Diego right now so…. thats pretty awesome. help her out.
We did a show together last fall and she planted one of her sculptures on this platform surrounded with potting soil and put some seeds in it. I was a little skeptical about how well it would work. by the day of the show, this piece was completely covered in a bed of 6 inch tallish sprouts. it was really cool. She sets things on fire also… which is awesome.

So, with about two weeks totally lost, I think I can get back into my studio in the next few days and get that piece that’s just sitting there done and get started on some new work. lets hope this thing wraps itself up this weekend.

3 Comments

Filed under documenting, whats new/whats happening

3 responses to “something new, something blue, something Flu

  1. jeez, Adam. seriously. I was starting to worry about you – its not like you to be gone as long as you have. On the other hand I appreciate your not spreading your germs around but I am sorry you have been so sick. I am glad you are feeling well enough to be blogging and listening to music. We all miss you. Your work misses you too.

  2. Jon

    Chuck won’t shut up about that Deerhoof album either. I might have to give it a closer listen….

  3. Erin

    I’ve just recently started going to church there… you should join.

Leave a Reply

