Oh, Hello: what just happened?

IMG_0004

Where am I

my new office, pre-organization

my new office, pre-organization

So, a lot has happened since last we spoke… I joined the army, I experimented with bath salts (just the regular kind), I learned to play the tuba, the US government partially shut down, And I began a new job at UMASS Dartmouth’s Artisanry Department in New Bedford Mass. Well, two of these things are true and it is the last two. I won’t get into the government one. That’s a mess. But, I have in fact begun teaching and heading up the Furniture/Wood department at Umass Dartmouth in the lovely Star Store building…

another old department store.

another old department store.

This is an exciting and daunting new posting. For now, I’m commuting between an apartment in New Bedford and Portland. This is really trying, as we have recently gotten a new apartment in Portland and I’m missing all the action in the town I’ve really grown to love. But, This program is really cool and the opportunity to work with a group of eager grad students and new undergrads is great. I’ll get used to the commute and settle into a groove in no time.

there is a long history of great makers coming through this program and it is an honor to be teaching here.

Follow the program on this here facebook page… https://www.facebook.com/umd.furniturewood… and you know… friend us. I’ll be updating the page regularly with tidbits, exhibitions, student projects and so on.

Anyway, as you can imagine, this has put a bit of a damper on my personal work, but I don’t have much time to stall. This summer I received a Maine Arts Commission grant for a new piece and I have a trip coming up to Instal my solo show at IUP’s Kipp Gallery in Indiana Pennsylvania, where I will give a visiting artist lecture, meet with students, and do a fun workshop with students in the furniture program there.

big things. fun things.

in the meantime, listen to this…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Oh, Hello: what just happened?

  1. nice! adam! congrats on all the new stuff. miss seeing you around. michel

    Michel Droge http://Www.micheldroge.wordpress.com

    • adamjohnmanley

      Yeah, It was a really hard choice, but This is a super cool new thing. See you around Portland

      • Jose Ambriz

        Hey Adam, I’m moving to Portland Maine this Sunday. I got a job making pottery up there! Hope we can share a beer at some point! Congrats on the job at UMass!

      • adamjohnmanley

        Nice, what are you doing in Portland? It’s a great town! call me when you’re around. We can catch up

Leave a Reply

